Android “Sales Pitch” and “Drift-Off”

(Google’s Android is an open software platform to be put on cellphones next year.)

There’s something to this video. Something imilar to Steve Jobs’s alleged “Reality Distortion Field,” but possibly less connected to presentation skills or perceived charisma. Though Mike seems to be a more experienced presenter than those we see in other videos about Android, and though the presentation format is much slicker than other videos about Android, there’s something special about this video, to me.

For one thing, the content of the three “Androidology” videos are easy to understand, even for a non-developer/non-coder. Sure, you need to know some basic terms. But the broad concepts are easy to understand, at least for those who have been observing the field of technology. One interesting thing about this is that these “Androidology” videos are explicitly meant for software programmers. The “you” in this context specifically refers to would-be developers of Android applications. At the same time, these videos do a better job, IMHO, of “selling Android to tech gurus” than other Android-related videos published by Google.

Now, I do find this specific video quite interesting, and my interest has to do with a specific meaning of “sales pitch.”

I keep going back to a Wired article about the “drift-off moment” during sales pitches (or demos):

When Mann gives a demo, what he’s waiting for is what salespeople call “the drift-off moment.” The client’s eyes get gooey, and they’re staring into space. They’re not bored – they’re imagining what they could do with SurveyBuilder. All tech salespeople mention this – they’ve succeeded not when they rivet the client’s attention, but when they lose it.

I apply this to teaching when I can and I specifically talked about this during a presentation about online tools for teaching.

This video on four of Android’s APIs had this effect on me. Despite not being a developer myself, I started imagining what people could do with Android. It was just a few brief moments. But very effective.

The four APIs discussed in this video are (in presentation order):

  1. Location Manager
  2. XMPP Service
  3. Notification Manager
  4. View System (including MapView and WebView)

Mike’s concise (!) explanations on all of these are quite straightforward (though I was still unclear on XMPP and on details of the three other APIs after watching the video). Yet something “clicked” in my mind while watching this. Sure, it might just be serendipitous. But there’s something about these APIs or about the way they are described which make me daydream.

Which is exactly what the “drift-off moment” is all about.

Technorati Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About enkerli

French-speaking ethnographer, homeroaster, anthropologist, musician, coffee enthusiast. View all posts by enkerli

29 responses to “Android “Sales Pitch” and “Drift-Off”

  • lisseu vapeur

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It if truth be told was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to more delivered agreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we keep in touch?

  • ventilatore

    Marvelous, what a blog it is! This webpage gives
    valuable data to us, keep it up.

  • Antoinette

    With havin so much written content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My site has a lot of unique content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it looks
    like a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my
    authorization. Do you know any ways to help protect against content from being stolen? I’d truly appreciate it.

  • centrifuga

    I have read so many posts on the topic of the blogger lovers but this piece of
    writing is in fact a pleasant paragraph, keep it up.

  • humidificador

    whoah this weblog is wonderful i love reading your articles.
    Stay up the good work! You realize, lots of people are hunting round for this info, you can help them greatly.

  • machine a barbe a papa

    Hello I am so thrilled I found your web site, I really found you by
    accident, while I was researching on Bing for something else, Nonetheless I am here now
    and would just like to say many thanks for a fantastic post and a all round enjoyable blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have saved it
    and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will
    be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the excellent job.

  • taladro

    I am really enjoying the theme/design of your site. Do you ever run into
    any browser compatibility issues? A number of my blog
    audience have complained about my blog not operating correctly
    in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any tips to help fix this issue?

  • tensiometre

    I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish. nonetheless,
    you command get got an impatience over that you wish be delivering the following.
    unwell unquestionably come further formerly again since exactly the same nearly very often inside
    case you shield this hike.

  • flashyprofileflies.com

    I don’t know whether it’s just me or if everyone else encountering issues with your site.
    It appears as though some of the text on your posts are running off the screen. Can someone else
    please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too?

    This might be a issue with my browser because
    I’ve had this happen previously. Many thanks

  • jet dentaire

    I’ve learn several good stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting.
    I surprise how much effort you put to make one of these fantastic informative web site.

  • Test

    Pretty component to content. I simply stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to claim that
    I get actually enjoyed account your weblog posts. Anyway I’ll
    be subscribing to your augment or even I fulfillment you get
    entry to consistently fast.

  • fresatrice

    Quality articles or reviews is the crucial to be
    a focus for the visitors to go to see the website,
    that’s what this website is providing.

  • plancha de pelo rowenta

    Very rapidly this website will be famous among all blogging
    and site-building people, due to it’s pleasant posts

  • disco duro ssd

    Nice respond in return of this question with real arguments and describing the whole thing on the topic
    of that.

  • matelas memoire de forme

    Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am
    impressed! Very helpful information particularly the last part🙂
    I care for such info a lot. I was seeking this particular info for a very
    long time. Thank you and good luck.

  • matelas memoire de forme

    When I originally commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify me
    when new comments are added- checkbox and from
    now on whenever a comment is added I recieve four emails
    with the exact same comment. There has to be a way you are able to remove me from that service?
    Cheers!

  • Centro de planchado

    Can I simply say what a comfort to discover somebody who actually understands what they are
    talking about on the internet. You definitely realize
    how to bring a problem to light and make it important.

    A lot more people must read this and understand this
    side of the story. I was surprised you’re not more popular given that you
    certainly possess the gift.

  • dream league soccer 2016 cheats

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this site.
    I am hoping to see the same high-grade content from you in the
    future as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged
    me to get my very own website now😉

  • Glory

    Debtors purchasing costly homes that exceed the lending limit for their city or state
    are not good prospects for an FHA home mortgage.

  • codecademy.com

    Part 251 insures residence purchase or refinancing lendings with
    rate of interest that may lower or raise with time,
    which makes it possible for customers to purchase or
    re-finance their residence at a lower preliminary rates of interest.

  • fha loan limits dallas county

    In time, personal home loan insurance coverage (PMI) companies entered play,
    and also currently FHA primarily serves individuals who can not manage a conventional down payment
    or otherwise do not get PMI.

  • www.pinterest.com

    Thanks a lot, I happen to be searching for information regarding this subject matter for a long time and yours is the best I have
    found so far.

  • spotapp.mobi

    This design іs incredible! Yoou ߋbviously knoԝ hhow tо кeep a reder amused.

    Betwden yur wit and уoᥙr videos, I wаs аlmost moved tⲟ starrt myy оwn blo
    (well, almost…HaHa!) Fantastic job. І rally enjoyed
    ԝhat yoou had to say, ɑnd more han that, hⲟw yyou ⲣresented
    іt. Too cool!

  • Elizbeth

    Hello mates, its great paragraph on the topic of educationand completely explained, keep it up all
    the time.

  • I Am Not a Guru « Disparate

    […] later), but I simply do not have the skills to sell anything. Some people are so good at sales pitches that they could create needs where they is none (the joke about refrigerators and […]

  • Touch Thoughts: Apple’s Handheld Strategy « Disparate

    […] / Commentaires Touch Thoughts: Appl… on AcronymsConfessions of a Na… on Android “Sales Pitch&#82…The Geek Niche (Draf… on Humanistic SociocentrismConfessions of a Na… on iRiver H120 […]

  • Confessions of a Naïve Tech Enthusiast (Old Draft) « Disparate

    […] my first “tech-induced epiphany” but it was one of the most intense. I not only started drifting off (which was easy enough to do, as I was in the back seat of my mother’s car), I actually […]

  • Jerry Gibson

    Those videos are great, ideal for newbies.

Leave a Reply

